Hey look, I made it!  I’m still alive!  Sometimes I wonder why I love academia…it’s certainly not for the papers.  I promise to keep my whining to a minimum next semester when I’m pounding out chapter after chapter of my thesis.  (smile)

Remember the pumpkin pie bites?  Well, because I didn’t make a regular sized pie and made bites instead, I ran out of crusts before I ran out of pie filling.  With 1 cup of pumpkin pie goodness sitting in my fridge and me being too lazy to make a little crust to bake it in, I decided to make muffins.  Muffins that mirrored my now infamous cracktastic pumpkin oatmeal chocolate chip pecan cookies.

Unfortunately, the muffins weren’t exactly what I was going for.  I wouldn’t use both whole wheat flour and oatmeal if I were you.  And the flavor wasn’t super pumpkiny.  The poet loved ’em, and I thought they weren’t too bad slathered in Earth Balance (and who doesn’t like chocolate chips in their muffins), but they just weren’t my favorite.  Oh well.  Next time I’ll play with it some more!

Pumpkin Pie Muffins

2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup old fashioned oats
1/2 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tbsp baking soda
1 cup pumpkin pie filling
1 cup soy milk
1/2 cup chopped pecans
1/2 cup chocolate chips

Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl.  Add the wet to the dry and mix until combined.  Fold in the pecans and chocolate chips.

Spoon the batter into a pre-oiled muffin tin.  Fill up each muffin cup three-quarters of the way to the top.

Bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown on the bottom.

