Thanksgiving week already?!  I have to admit, I’m going to have a rather quiet holiday this year.  One of my cats, Mistoffelees, took ill last week, and in order to give him his meds and check his bladder to make sure it’s not blocked (he has a urinary tract infection and could die from it if I don’t watch him carefully) I canceled my plans to drive to Richmond and spend the holiday with family.  The poet is also out-of-town, visiting his sister and godparents in Amherst (what a picture-perfect town for Thanksgiving!), and most of my friends are MIA, so I’m going to spend a quiet week in my apartment pretending to write papers and eating only the food in my fridge and pantry.  I’m thankful for this time to work, though.  I need it.  Why I convinced myself that writing a thesis was a good plan…someone should have stopped me!  **If anyone has any good movie suggestions, please let me know!**  I’m going to rent some from the university library to watch at night!

Broccoli Greens (Photo courtesy of Veggie Gardening Tips)

On Sunday I cooked a mini-Thanksgiving meal for my mom and the poet.  At the local farmers market last week, I picked up a bag of broccoli greens for $3.  The farmer convinced me that they were sweeter than collards, but that you cook them the same way.  After deribing the leaves and ripping them into bite sized pieces, I sauteed them with olive oil and garlic for a few minutes, then added water to the pan, covered it with a lid, and let them simmer for 30 minutes until tender.  They were amazing!  Frankly, they tasted just like broccoli.  Only leafy.  I didn’t have my camera with me, so no pictures, but I’m hoping to get some in my Vegetable Husband box soon (fingers crossed)!  Thanks for recommending it Leigh, I can’t wait to get my first box!

Shelly, over at Musings from the Fishbowl, introduced this great exchange idea called Pay It Forward.  I’m stoked to participate, but you get to as well!  I will send 3 of you who comment a handmade gift (it’s true, I can be crafty, who knew!) within the next 365 days.  Don’t worry about where you live because I’m willing to ship internationally.  On Monday, Dec. 1, I will pick three people using a random number generator so that it’s fair.

The catch is that you have to be willing to do it too!  If I pick you, then you have to commit to sending three people a handmade gift in the next 365 days.  You know, pay it forward!  Be sure to specify in your comment that you want to participate–I don’t want to rope you into a commitment you can’t keep!

I hope you all have a lovely Thanksgiving and safe travels if you’re on the road or flying somewhere!

