I’m really glad you all like the sausages!  I have a couple sitting in my fridge waiting to go in another seitanic potpie I’m making for my mom’s birthday (which is today, but we’re celebrating tomorrow).

Now, step two of the perfect winter meal.  Bread!  My friend Melissa (who regularly stalks the blog–hey Ranger!) made this bread the other week and I fell in love with it.  As a no-knead bread, it couldn’t be any simpler, and it’s…well…perfect.  I’m getting a sourdough vibe from it.  But you don’t have to have any starter.  Just flour, yeast, salt, and water.   I’m not sure where she pulled the recipe from, so I can’t credit it, but damn, it’s good.  You can also use half whole-wheat flour, half all-purpose/bread flour, but apparently it’s a no-no to call it Bosnian Bread when it’s whole wheat.  But it’s ridiculously tasty that way too!

Bosnian Bread

4 cups bread flour (or all-purpose)
1 package instant yeast
1/2 tbsp salt
2 cups water

Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl with a spoon or your hand.  The dough will be sticky and loose (not soupy though).  Cover with a wet warm cloth and let it sit overnight (or 8-10 hours).  (note: one time I made it at night and let it sit till morning, the other time I made it in the morning and let it sit until evening–both times worked great!)

Spray a loaf pan with vegetable spray oil.

Scrape dough into pan and let it rise for 30 minutes.

After it has risen, place in a cold oven.  Turn the temperature to 500 degrees and bake for 15 minutes.  After 15 minutes, turn the oven down to 300 degrees and bake for another 45 minutes or until lightly browned on top.

Let it cool on a baking rack before you slice into it.  It’s worth it for a nicely sliced piece!

