How the heck is Christmas next week?  I’m flying to Boston (anyone have good vegan restaurant suggestions?) on Thursday, and somehow I have to be ready for everything by then!  Time flies a bit too fast for my taste.

Oh, and since I’m out of town for the holiday, my mom gave me my Christmas gift last night–a Black & Decker vacuum cleaner!  Yippee!!!  (No, seriously, it’s all I asked for this year–a vacuum cleaner, any vacuum cleaner).  Cats are messy bedfellows.  Well, dirty, at least.

And now the part you’ve all been waiting for, the soup recipe!  I mentioned in the first post that the recipe is from Leite’s Culinaria, so you can link over to the original site to view the recipe as well.  The soup is extremely easy to make and 100% satisfying.  I was unsure about pureeing the vegan sausages since I figured they wouldn’t add that much flavor to the soup, but I think they did give the broth a bit of a kick.  As for the kale, you can substitute collards or some other leafy green vegetable.  You could also make the soup sans sausage–it would just be a potato-kale soup then, and that’d be quite lovely too, I think!  Oh, and I browned the garnish sausage dice in a bit of olive oil to give the sausage more texture.  While I love the steaming method, the sausage isn’t texturally perfect for eating on its own.

Caldo Verde

1/4 cup olive oil
1 large onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
4 vegan chouriços, diced
6 medium potatoes, peeled and diced
8 cups vegetable broth
1 pound kale, cut into very fine julienne
Salt and pepper to taste

In a large pot, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onions and cook until they are translucent. Add the garlic and half the chouriço and cook for 2 minutes. Add the potatoes, cover everything with the water, bring to a boil and lower the heat, simmering until the potatoes are almost done, about 15 minutes.

When the soup is cool enough to handle, purée it in the food processor and return to the pot. Add the greens, bring everything back to a boil and simmer for 2 minutes. Season with salt and pepper, ladle into bowls and garnish with the remaining cubes of chouriço.

