Happy New Year everyone!  Looking back over the past year, it’s surreal to think that everything that happened happened in under 365 days.  I almost moved to Germany.  I was going to graduate.  I was going to Africa for summer study abroad.  I was going to start a bicycle co-op in Clarkston for refugee children.  I decided to not graduate and decided write a thesis.  I moved back closer to campus and away from the city.  I met the poet.  I decided to take chemistry instead of going to Africa and ended up taking a fiction workshop instead (bad move, if you ask me–apologies to any fiction writers!).  I continued to take classes, mostly graduate level, and write my thesis.  I applied to graduate school for a MFA in poetry, not ecology.  I sent out my work to literary journals, and after a few months found out that I’m getting published in The Hollins Critic (an established and prestigious journal, actually).  I flew to Boston and met the poet’s important family–the twin sister and older brother–and survived.

And now I’m ringing in 2009.  2009 is pretty mythical.  It’s the year I always assumed I’d be graduating (not last year, which would have been after only 3 years of undergrad), and now it truly is.  And so so so much is up in the air.  I know I’m graduating, but I haven’t heard back from the summer job I applied to.  I know I’ve applied for MFA programs and I know that I have a really strong portfolio and fabulous recommendations, but it’s all just a shot in the dark.  If I do get into a program, I don’t know which one it is yet, so I can’t make any moving plans.  It goes on and on.  But I’m excited!  Waking up tomorrow will be surreal.  2009 will be real.  But I am oh-so-ready to face it.

I hope you all have a wonderful time doing whatever you’re doing tonight and that your new year is exciting and surprising!  I’ll see you with the new numbers tomorrow!

