This entry was submitted to the Click February 2009 Cheese/Tofu event.  You can read more about Click, a monthly food photography event here.  Check out Jai and Bee’s site, Jugalbandi, for more info on the rules and how to participate!

Now what should I do with my new-found jar of delicious homemade mustard, you might ask. Well, how about a simple and fast one skillet recipe with all of my favorite things: tofu, brussels sprouts, mustard, maple syrup, balsamic vinegar. There, I just told you all the ingredients, actually.

You already know that I’m a huge fan of Heidi’s brussels sprouts. I love the technique, sautéed brussels with dry fried tofu, because it’s so simple and so fresh tasting, and with a bit of caramelization it adds the extra oomph the recipe would need otherwise. But being that it’s 20 degrees here and I just feel like I need heartier food, I decided that a nice maple-mustard glaze would be divine. And it was. The maple adds the sweetness I like in the original recipe, but the mustard adds a warm, tangy zing. I’ve made this twice in the past week and each time I just can’t get enough of it. It’s impossible to eat a normal-sized serving of this deliciousness.

The recipe uses half a tub of tofu (4 oz), so feel free to double the recipe. In that case though, remember to double the glaze. You want lots and lots of glaze!

Maple Mustard Glazed Tofu & Brussels Sprouts

4 oz firm or extra-firm tofu sliced into 1 inch strips
8 or 9 brussels sprouts sliced into fine strips (make 3 cuts lengthwise, turn the sprout 45 degrees, make three more cuts)
a splash of olive oil for cooking
1/4 cup homemade spicy mustard
1/4 cup maple syrup
1 tsp balsamic vinegar

Dry fry the tofu in a large skillet. See Vegan Yum Yum’s tutorial on how to dry fry.

While the tofu is cooking, slice up the brussels.

Mix the mustard, maple syrup, and vinegar together in a bow.

Once the tofu is completely cooked to your liking, add the brussels sprouts. Stir them into the tofu with a splash of olive oil for about 30 seconds. Immediately add the glaze to the skillet and stir the glaze into the tofu and brussels to cover all of it. Cover with a lid and let cook for 3-5 minutes or until the brussels are tender.

Serve immediately with bread or a grain of your choice.

