I’m a college student, so easy-to-prepare, easy-to-eat meals are extremely helpful. Some form of veggie patty or burger that I can freeze and then cook when needed is definitely preferable, and although my favorite recipe is my anarchy burger, avocados aren’t exactly in season so I needed to try something new. I’m fairly picky about my burgers (the VCon Black Bean one doesn’t do it for me–too gluteny–for example), but after an extensive search during some down time at work I decided to try the Sweet Potato and Black Bean burger from vegan-food.net.

My love of sweet potato fries is unequaled and black beans do make delicious burgers, and quinoa is the most delightful grain, so how could this go wrong? After a few substitutions due to what I had on hand, I shaped up 20 patties, froze most of them, and cooked a batch on my spankin-new George Forman grill. The grill now holds the place of one of the most useful Christmas gifts from this year.

The salad in the background features fresh greens from Vegetable Husband and the Tahini Salad Dressing I made a few weeks ago. With fresh croutons from the Dekalb Farmer’s Market, Vegan Dad’s homemade hamburger buns, sweet potato/black bean burger, it certainly was a tasty, complete meal–and all in under 10 minutes!

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Burger

2 tablespoons oil
2 onions, diced
4 garlic cloves, minced
2 carrots, grated finely
2 cups black beans, cooked
2 baked sweet potatoes, scooped out of skin
2 cups red quinoa, cooked
1 1/2 cup bread crumbs/gf rice bread crumbs
2 tablespoons caraway seeds
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon adobo sauce

Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add onions and garlic and lower heat. Cook until lightly browned, several minutes. Add carrots and beans and cook an additional 4-5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Turn off heat. Mash slightly in pan, until beans are half crushed.

Place skillet mixture in large bowl with remaining ingredients and mix thoroughly. If mixture is too moist, add more breadcrumbs. Form into 15-20 patties. Cook what you need on a George Forman Grill, in a skillet with a little oil, or in the oven at 350 degrees. Wrap the rest in saran wrap and freeze until needed!

