Before we jet across the world from Korea to Jamaica, let me just say how stoked I am about this:

Yes! The Coomb’s Organic Maple Syrup I won from Ricki at Diet, Dessert, and Dogs arrived in the mail this week!  I, for one, am a maple syrup fiend.  Recession or no recession, I refuse to give it up.  Some people think it’s over-priced and overrated, but not me!  Where would I be without my maple glazed brussels sprouts?  Or weekend pancake brunches?  Or maple sweetened desserts?  Now I haven’t tried the syrup yet because I have an opened quart of New York maple syrup that I bought in Cuba, NY over Christmas, but as soon as I finish that, it’s on to taste-testing the Coomb’s!

Now to the recipe.  It’s no secret how much I (and everyone else in the blog world) adores Heidi’s recipes over at 101 Cookbooks.  If it weren’t for her my diet would be a bit more boring, I think.  So when Heidi posted a recipe for Jamaican Veggie Patties in March, I immediately bookmarked the page and put it at the top of my to-make list.  The first chance I got I bought all the veggies the recipe called for, raced home, put the groceries away, pulled out the recipe, and then realized that, oops, I’d forgotten the coconut oil.  Granted, I could have made it with vegetable oil, but I figured something would be missing in the end result.  I’m really glad I waited to make the recipe until I bought the coconut oil!

The scent of melting coconut oil is intoxicating.  Mixed with onions and garlic, it’s even more delicious.  I followed the recipe to a T, except I used purple potatoes instead of yellow ones because I couldn’t resist the purpley goodness of the little tatters.  Now I’m wishing I’d used them in a potato salad for tomorrow, but oh well.  I can’t win it all!  The end result was de-lic-ious.  They do need a dipping sauce, something Jamaican, but I made do with an Asian garlic chili sauce: sweet, spicy, garlicy.  The poet gave these a two thumbs up, and I agree.  It was definitely worth the wait!

Jamaican Veggie Patties

from 101 Cookbooks

1 tbsp coconut oil
1/2 c 1/4-inch-diced yellow onion
1/8 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp allspice
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
1/8 tsp cayenne
salt
2 larges cloves garlic, minced
3/4 c coconut milk
1/4 c 1/4-inch-diced carrots
1/4 c 1/4-inch-diced yellow potatoes (I used purple)
1/2 c frozen peas
1/2 c frozen sweet corn
1/2 cup shredded cabbage (again, I used purple!)
1 tbsp minced fresh thyme
1 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
1/2 tsp freshly ground white pepper

For the Pastry:
1 3/4 c unbleached flour
1 c whole wheat pastry flour
2 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 c chilled coconut oil (I used room temp. oil)
2 tsp apple cider vinegar
1/2 c plus 2 tablespoons ice water

For the filling:
In a medium-size saute pan over medium-low heat, combine the coconut oil, the onion cinnamon, allspice, cumin, red pepper flakes, cayenne, and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Saute, stirring occasionally, for 8 to 10 minutes, or until the vegetables are caramelized.

Add the garlic and cook for an additional 2 minutes.

Stir in the coconut milk, carrots, and potatoes, reduce the heat to low, cover, and cook until the carrots and potatoes are tender, 10 to 12 minutes.

Stir in the green peas, corn, cabbage, thyme, and lemon juice, cover, and cook for 3 minutes more. Season with additional salt and the white pepper (or to taste) and set aside to allow the flavors to marry.

For the pastry:
Combine 1 1/2 cups of the white flour with the pastry flour, turmeric, and salt in a food processor. Set the remaining 1/4 cup white flour aside. Add the coconut butter to the flour mixture pulse until it resembles fine sand.

Combine the vinegar and water and mix well. Place the flour mixture in a large bowl. Then, without overworking the dough, add the vinegar mixture by the tablespoon, while stirring, just until the dough comes away from the sides of the bowl and begins to coalesce. Squeeze into a tight ball, flatten, cover in plastic wrap, and refrigerate for at least 1 hour.

To Finish:
Preheat the oven to 350F and remove the dough from the refrigerator.

With the reserved flour, lightly dust a clean surface, roll out the dough until it is about 1/8 inch thick. Cut six 6-inch circles from the dough (you can use a bowl). Spoon 2 heaping tablespoons of the filling onto the center of one side of each circle, leaving about a 1/8-inch border. Fold the other half over to make a half-moon, press to seal, and make ridges around the edge using a fork.

Transfer the patties to a parchment-lined baking sheet and bake until golden brown, about 35 minutes. Serve immediately with some hot sauce.

