I hate Spring.  It’s true.  Yes, it’s finally warmer weather, yes beautiful, tasty, wonderful spring veggies are finally available, yes it’s the end of the semester, and yes the trees are leafing and the flowers are blooming and the world carries and sweet green sheen.  But it’s that last part that gets me.  I have really bad allergies.  I didn’t realize I had allergies until my freshman year of college.  I enrolled in a plant ecology class, tromped around happily for two months looking at leaf bud scars on leafless trees and evergreen shrubs and then wham March and April hit.  All of a sudden going outside gave me the shivvers.  In between sneezes and I wheezed in breath, unable to get a good gulp of air in.  I had it bad.  The past couple of years have been better, and I thought this season was going peachy until Saturday morning.

See, Saturday morning I decided to snag some double-wide, super tall bookshelves off of Craigslist.  Somewhere between the highest pollen count of the season and the dusty bookshelves and then going to work in the bookstore for five hours I lost it.  It being all sense of normal human condition.  I fully intended to post a recipe Saturday, but I was having a hard enough time looking presentable for customers.  Then yesterday I had a rather high fever and didn’t really do much of anything besides watch hour after hour of The Wire (my newest TV on DVD addiction).  Needless to say, no recipe posting.

Today I’m feeling better, although not 100%.  And you know what can make someone feel 100%?  Tea and cookies of course!  I managed to find one bag of Traditional Medicinals Gypsy Cold Care tea (one of my faves) lurking in the back corner of my cupboard, hurray!, and then I remembered I had carrots and coconut oil so I could make Heidi’s Carrot Oatmeal Cookies.  Well, it turns out that I didn’t have enough of most of the ingredients, so I played around the recipe a bit.  The end result was just as crack-a-licious as my Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookies.  I love that the recipe isn’t too sweet (one of my least favorite things about most cookie recipes is too much sugar) and the coconuty, salty, sweet, nutty flavor is waaay too addicting (I’m on my 3rd cookie already).  Plus the recipe produces a manageable amount of dough, which is a good thing for my 1 person household.  The great thing about this recipe, which Heidi pointed out, is that it’s so happy to be played with. You can add in or substitute almost anything. And there is nothing better than the aromatics of melting coconut oil.

Carrot Oatmeal Coconut Cookies

adapted from 101 Cookbooks

1 c whole wheat pastry flour
1 tsp baking powder
scant 1/2 tsp fine grain sea salt
1/2 c rolled oats
1/2 c shredded unsweetened coconut
1/3 c chopped walnuts
1/3 c chopped pecans
1 c shredded carrots
1/2 c brown sugar
1/2 c unrefined (fragrant) coconut oil, warmed until just melted
1 tsp grated fresh ginger

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees fahrenheit.

In a large bowl whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, and oats. Add the nuts and carrots. In a separate smaller bowl use a whisk to combine the brown sugar, coconut oil, and ginger. Add this to the flour mixture and stir until just combined.

Drop onto prepared baking sheets, one level tablespoonful at a time, leaving about 2 inches between each cookie. Bake in the top 1/3 of the oven for 10 – 12 minutes or until the cookies are golden on top and bottom.

Makes about 2 1/2 dozen cookies.

