Recession Worthy Food, meet Lunchtime!  Now that I’m balancing several jobs and running around Atlanta trying to get to each one, I’ve realized that I need healthy, portable, filling lunches.  Cheap lunches too.  Luckily, thanks to my pretty big collection of canning jars, walking around with soup in my bag isn’t a problem.  And also luckily, organic carrots are really darn cheap.  This Carrot Ginger Soup pairs nicely with slice or two of the Whole Wheat Sesame Millet Bread, and besides being cheap, easy to pack, and making enough food for a week, the two recipes taste great together.  I guess I’ve got to plan something new for next week though…I know what I’m doing this weekend!

Carrot Ginger Soup

1 tbsp olive/vegetable oil
1 onion, roughly chopped
2 lb carrots, peeled and chopped
2″ ginger, grated
6 c vegetable broth

In a soup pot, sauté the onion in the oil over medium heat until translucent. Add the carrots, ginger, and broth. Bring to a boil, then lower to a simmer. Simmer until the carrots are tender, 45 minutes-1 hour.

Remove the pot from heat and puree the soup in batches in a food processor. Reheat, then serve!

