Ah…summer. It’s not exactly the season that illicits images of preheating the oven to 350 or eating fattening foods, but I’ve never been one to go with the flow. I love my sugar and I love my oven–even if both make my life hell during these warmer months. That’s why I try to be more efficient, bake goodies that require less time in the oven than others. And that’s where these cookies come in.

Butter pecan ice cream is probably one of my favorite flavors. I love how it’s creamy, nutty, sweet, and salty all at once–a perfect balance summer needs, like ice cold A/C and 90 degree heat. So when I came across a recipe for butter pecan cookies, how could I resist? Especially since the recipe was practically vegan to begin with and I had all the ingredients handy.

I have to admit, I had a hard time not just eating the dough. Personally, I think the dough ought to be frozen into little balls and thrown into vanilla ice cream to make butter pecan cookie dough ice cream–it’d be sinfully amazing! But, for the sake of the blog, I did follow through with the baking part of the recipe. And am I glad I did. These cookies are buttery and sugary and salty and crunchy and soft all at once. They make no pretensions of being good for me and I can’t not eat them. It wouldn’t be fair to their perfectness and the delicious things in life.

Butter Pecan Cookies

adapted from Simply Recipes

3/4 c chopped pecans
1/2 c (1 stick) Earth Balance, room temperature
1/3 c sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/8 tsp salt
1 c all-purpose flour

Preheat oven to 350°. On a baking sheet, toast pecans until fragrant, about 6 minutes. Let cool completely; finely chop.

With an electric mixer, cream butter for about a minute. Add 1/3 cup sugar and cream until light, about 1 minute more. Beat in vanilla, salt, and flour, scraping down sides of bowl, just until dough comes together. Fold in pecans.

Form the dough into small equal-sized balls, place on cookie sheet, and flatten gently with your palm. Bake until golden brown, 10-12 minutes.

