I started my nighttime baking adventures today–bread in the oven, now on to a blog post!

I love you guys. No really, you all provide me with so many great ideas and recipes and you inspire me to go out of my comfort zone. The thing is, I kinda don’t like figs. It’s true. I have distinct memories of my kindergarten friends’ mothers trying to feed me fig newtons and me freaking out. I was a pretty stubborn kid. Now I’m a little more adventurous, but I still don’t gravitate towards dried figs or fresh figs. The last fresh fig I ate was probably five years ago, but the sticky sweet memory of it is burned in my mind and I don’t want to go there again. However, when Ricki posted that amazing orange fig sauce which I put on my RWF bowls I loved it. So now I’ve decided that as long as the fig is hidden inside something amazingly non-figgish, then I’m ok with it. Hence the curried fig salad dressing

The recipe is adapted Liz’s curried apricot salad dressing which is adapted from the Millennium cookbook. Adaptations galore! Overall, I’m impressed with it. It’s still a little sweet for my palate, but I think it’s perfect for a summer afternoon. Creamy and sweet with layers of curry and garam masala pulling through, it’s definitely different in a good way. I think I’m with Liz, creamy tofu-based salad dressings are the way to go! Now I’ve just got to work on putting more in a salad than romaine lettuce and croutons…

Curried Fig Salad Dressing

adapted from Liz

1/4 lb. soft tofu
2 dried figs, soaked well and chopped
1 tsp rice vinegar
1/2 tsp curry powder
1/4 tsp garam masala
1/8 tsp cardamom
pinch of cayenne
1 tsp cashew butter
1 tsp vegetable oil
enough water to thin

Put all ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth. Store in an airtight container and let cool in fridge for at least 1 hour before using.

