If it seems like all I eat these days is sandwiches, pasta, and baked beans, well…you’re probably right. Although I have a host of excuses, I can really explain the bean thing. See, my mom gave me the world’s most amazing cast iron dutch oven. It’s beautiful. And black. And shiny with oil. And begging to have 800 gazillion recipes of beans baked in it. And cobblers. And casseroles. And whatever else you’re supposed to make in a dutch oven (what are you supposed to make in a dutch oven??).

Also, apparently, my grandfather (on my mom’s side) was addicted to baked beans. He used to make himself a big pot of beans every week, and his recipe didn’t call for the canned beans. No sireee, he soaked dry beans and threw together seasonings and onions and whatever else he baked his beans in and made him a nice, homemade batch. My gastronome bone goes way back. This is also the grandfather that asked my mom to bake him a pie a day, which she pretty much always did. A pie a day! He was also ridiculously thin. That gene I wish I’d inherited.

So without further ado, I bring you baked bean recipe #2. Honestly, I overdid it on the chipotles. The beans are a little hard to swallow. So I’ve toned the recipe down to what I believe would have been a sane amount of peppers. I really like it. I adapted it from a recipe that called for pre-cooked, canned beans, so I had to add a lot of water to the beans to get them soft, but all in all, it’s extremely straightforward and, again, another great summer cook out side dish!

Hot & Smoky Baked Beans

adapted from Bon Appétit

16 oz navy beans, soaked overnight
2 medium Vidalia onions, chopped
1 1/4 c barbecue sauce
1 12 oz dark beer
1/4 c molasses
2 tbsp mustard powder
3 tbsp brown sugar (packed)
2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 tbsp soy sauce
2 chipotles in adobo sauce, chopped finely
4 c water

Preheat oven to 350°F.

In a cast iron dutch oven, or in a large pot, bring all ingredients to a boil.

If using a the dutch oven, after the beans come to a boil, place the lid on the dutch oven and transfer immediately to the oven. If using a pot, transfer the beans to a large casserole (9×13) dish, cover with a lid or aluminum foil. Bake for 1 hour.

After 1 hour, remove the lid/covering, stir, and bake for another 2 hours. Add water as necessary to ensure the beans are tender.

Once the beans are tender, remove from the oven, let cool, and serve!

