It’s been awhile since my last pesto post (trust me, there’s been a new batch every week!) so I think it’s time to pull out a recipe from the backlog: lemon caper pesto.

One of the main issues/complaints/suggestions I get with vegan pesto is that it just isn’t salty enough, something (I guess) the cheese adds to it.  At this point in time, I can’t remember a non-vegan pesto, so I’m going to take the critics’ word at it.  Usually I just add some extra salt, sometimes I don’t and say “deal with it” (in the most loving way of course).  This time I said, hey, how ’bout some capers?  I mean, really, to backpedal, who doesn’t love capers???  They’re the perfect addition to…well…anything.  In fact, right now as I munch on a fresh baked buttermilk biscuit I’m thinking some capers might be fabulous on it.  Give me a glass of wine and some large capers to pop and I’m pretty darn happy.  Maybe I’m weird, maybe I’m having an Anthony Bourdain moment, but allow me the pleasure.

Ok, so back to the pesto.  Basically, it was the best one yet.  Tangy, acidic, salty, basily, and creamy (I used cashews as the nut component), it paired perfectly with everything (which, right now given the season means zucchini, tomatoes, and pasta).  I’m not sure what else to say besides that you should make it.  Capers ho!

Check out the other pesto recipes: Basil Pecan Pesto and Sun Dried Tomato & Basil Almond Pesto.

Lemon Caper Pesto

1 c fresh basil
1 tbsp fresh lemon juice
2 tsp capers (I didn’t add any caper juice but I’m sure it wouldn’t hurt!)
1/4 c cashews
1/4 c olive oil
3 cloves garlic

Pulse all ingredients together in a food processor until well combined. Add more oil as necessary, then serve with pasta and fresh, seasonal vegetables.

