Greetings from Roanoke everyone! Yep, I moved this past weekend (which explains the lack of posts). It was long and stressful and my back, arms, and legs are all moaning “what the crap did you do to me,” but I’m here, sitting in my bed, with only one more box to unpack tomorrow morning. I think I’ll celebrate with some french toast. (smile)

But what did I cook before I left? Just a little Doen-Jang-Jji-Gye, or, as is easier to remember and pronounce, Soybean Paste Stew. It was the perfect meal for a week marked by packing all my pots, books, spices, and dishes into boxes since it requires only one pot, very little knifework, and simple yet flavorful ingredients. Like the Korean Tofu Soup I made back in April, the Soybean Past Stew relies on Asian pastes, fresh vegetables, and tofu. All in all, the soup took about 20 minutes to make and fed me for four meals–just what I needed before I hit the road and headed north!

Soybean Paste Stew

adapted from Migi’s Kitchen

1 sheet Nori
3 tbsp soybean paste
1 tsp red pepper paste
3 c water
1 small onion, sliced
1/2 zucchini, sliced into half moons
2 handfuls of shitake mushrooms (I used 9 small ones)
1 pack of enoki mushrooms (separated)
1/2 lb of firm tofu, diced in 1/2″ blocks
1 jalapeno pepper (garnish)

Make the soup base by bringing the nori and water to a boil. Add the soybean paste and pepper paste, stir to incorporate, and lower the heat to a simmer.

Add the onion, cover the pot, and cook for 5 minutes. Add the zucchini and mushrooms, cover, and simmer for 10 minutes. Add the enoki mushrooms and tofu and simmer for 2 minutes.

Garnish and serve!

