First of all, cute cat overload: Mistoffelees on laundry day, happily ensconced in the clean sheets and pillows waiting to be be put on my bed.  Sure, a tad bit cross-eyed, but he’s a looker.

Ok, now onto the food.  I’m just going to say it, this sandwich is orgasmic.  I kid you not.  It’s so simple, so deceiving in its simplicity, really, but when you take the first bite it whomps you over the head.  So you ask, what just happened?  Then you take another bite.  Then it sinks in: you’re eating the best damn sandwich of your life.  Is it like the Trifecta?  No, not really.  I think it’s the simplicity that gives it the kick–local, fresh, and homemade–I pretty much cried when I’d finished it.  So beautiful, yet so fleeting.  So thank you, dear folks with Good Food-Good People for talking me into buying one of the last heirloom tomatoes of the season; thank you Beth, the gardening half of my dear land-couple, for planting tons of kale in your backyard, kale which I can now eat; and thank you, Luisa, for posting a recipe for bread that would make my house smell like Christmas because, darn, after that review I knew I had to make it.

Tomato & Kale Sandwich of Awesomeness

1 heirloom tomato, thinly sliced
6 kale leaves, cleaned, deribbed, and chopped
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1 tsp olive oil
1-2 tbsp water
Veganaise
Spicy brown mustard
four slices of Ethiopian Honey-Spice Bread

Warm the olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add the garlic and saute for 1 minute. Add the kale, cook for 1 more minute, stirring constantly. Add the water and cover the skillet, letting the water steam the kale for 3-4 minutes. Once the kale is wilted, set aside.

Take two slices of the bread and slather Veganaise on both slices. Spread the spicy brown mustard on one slice. Sandwich together half of the tomato slices and half of the garlicky kale. Repeat with the other two slices of bread.

Serves 2.

