I’m really due to give you another recipe, but first a quick announcement for anyone in the Southwestern Virginia area. Next week, Tuesday, October 20, I will be giving a demonstration and talk on vegan and gluten-free Thanksgiving menus at the main branch of the Roanoke Public Library. The event begins at 6 p.m. and will last for about 45 minutes. During that time I’ll address the two “main” parts of the Thanksgiving meal–side dishes and main dishes (or turkey alternatives as I might as well call it). Through an interactive discussion, I’ll address concerns about what exactly vegans and gluten-free folks eat, demonstrate how to cook one or two dishes, and, hopefully, depending on how the food codes work, pass out samples.  Next month, date TBA, I will give another talk on bread and dessert (oh how I love pies!).

If you don’t live in the Roanoke-area, as most of you probably don’t, you can access my tutorials in the Thanksgiving Tutorials tab at the top of the blog. The recipes include step-by-step photograph instructions in addition to the recipe in order to facilitate an easier cooking time on Thanksgiving day. Currently you’ll find recipes for dishes like collard greens and maple pecan roasted sweet potatoes, as well as staples like vegan and gluten-free gravy. The index will be updated almost daily from now until Thanksgiving, so if you all have any ideas about recipes you’d like to see veganized, let me know at TheCupCakePunk [at] gmail [dot] com.

Hope to see you next week!

