You know those moments when all of a sudden you realize that you’ve totally rocked something out?  Moments when skipping and singing “by jove, I’ve got it” don’t seem unreasonable, when all things vegan and gluten-free seem possible?  Well, I had one of those moments the other day, and let me tell you, it rocked.

Granted, it’s pretty ridiculous since I’d only tried a g-f pie crust once before, but, on my second try, I really really really think I’ve got it.  The crust worked just like any other gluten-filled one–it chilled the same, it rolled out the same, it was pliable and easy to work with, and, after it baked, it flaked just like my favorite recipe (and wasn’t crumbly at all).  It was just darn delicious.  And, as R. pointed out, when you expect second best as a celiac, it’s pretty awesome to eat something 100% delicious by any standards.

I used the pie crust in individual-sized Asian pear, apple galettes.  I’m not sold on the pears, they certainly take longer to cook down, but the combination of flavors worked really well.  For the recipe for the galette, follow this one–the only difference is that I made them individual size (six in total) and I didn’t make the glaze for on top.  Just pears, apples, crust, a little bit of sugar, and a little bit of melted Earth Balance.  I may have eaten pie for breakfast two days in a row…

Perfect Vegan Gluten-Free Pie Crust

¾ c Bob’s Red Mill all purpose gluten-free flour
¼ c brown rice flour
¼ c besan (chickpea flour)
¾ tsp guar gum
½ tsp salt
½ tsp raw sugar
½ c Earth Balance
¼- ½ c ice water

::note:: this recipe yields one crust–to make a double crust for an apple pie or something like that, double the recipe.

Mix flours, guar gum, sugar, and salt in a large bowl; add the EarthBalance in tablespoon chunks, and use a pastry blender to blend until the mixture resembles coarse meal.

Add ice water slowly, while gently stirring with a spatula just until dough holds together without being wet or sticky. Be careful not to over-work the dough. To test, squeeze a small amount together: If it is crumbly, add more ice water, 1 tablespoon at a time.

Form dough into a ball. Flatten into a disc and wrap in plastic. Transfer to the refrigerator and chill at least 1 hour.

Roll out and use as a pie or galette crust!

