Saturday–thank goodness. This week seems like it’s dragged on and on. Most of this might be due to the 3:45 am wake up time I had on Tuesday for filming the morning show segments. Most of this might be related to the fact that I gave up coffee this week (seriously not the best week to do this–but I do feel clearer headed and more focused already!). But mostly I think I just haven’t had a break. So today, while I had planned on going to an urban farming conference down the street from me, I’m just going to take it easy, buy some produce at the farmers market, and cook a nice breakfast. Sometimes my body just needs a break, and when it does, I’ve got to listen! Later on I will hit up the 350 Rally for the International Day of Climate Action and show my support for the planet, but for right now, I’m going to cozy up to a plate of fried maple pumpkin polenta, tempeh tube sausage patties, and sauted garlicky kale (the below is obviously not polenta or kale–it’s french toast and tofu scramble).

Tempeh Tube Sausage

1 block of tempeh (can be gluten-free)
2 tbsp tapioca starch
1/2 tsp sage
1/2 tsp thyme
1/2 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp crushed black pepper
1 tbsp dried parsley flakes/2 tbsp fresh parsley, chopped
1 tbsp nutritional yeast
1 tbsp Bragg’s Liquid Aminos/soy sauce

Bring a small pot of water to a boil. Add the tempeh and boil for 10 minutes. This will help to eliminate the bitter taste.

In a food processor, combine the boiled tempeh with the rest of the ingredients.

Roll the sticky “sausage” into balls, flatten, and fry in oil over medium heat on the stove for 2-3 minutes on each side until golden brown.

