I don’t know about you all, but I am stoked to be in November. My plans for the month include hunkering down and getting work done, baking up a storm up pies and bread (gluten free especially!) for the next Alternative Thanksgiving talk (November 17!), and embracing the change from autumn to winter here in the gorgeous mountains of southwestern Virginia. I’ve already accomplished more in the first 2 days of the month than I think I did for the last two weeks of October, so that’s exciting, and, last night, I went on this spectacular night hike up to Dragon’s Tooth. Hiking during a full moon was surreal–we never needed to use our head lamps–and the wind breaking over the jagged teeth-like rocks at the top and the stars and the cows mooing in the valley–it was all just amazing. I think I might have to start a monthly night hike on the full moon from now on!

But of course, Halloween was on Saturday, and three carved pumpkins make a lot of pumpkin seeds. I don’t know if there’s some trick for cleaning off the seeds from the pumpkin gunk, but I think it took almost an hour for me to separate the seeds from the other stuff. Given that I’ve never actually managed to roast pumpkin seeds without burning them, I was terrified that all my work would be in vain, but, thankfully, they turned out great! I made three kinds–cinnamon spice, hot curried, and Old Bay–and while all of them have their merits, I think the cinnamon spice ones were my favorite. If you have some seeds lying around still, I’d recommend roasting ’em up! They’re perfect for snacking, for topping salads with, and for throwing on top of soups and pretty much any other entree.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds x3

To prep the seeds:
Separate the seeds from the pumpkin gunk.

Bring a pot of water to a boil, add 1/2 tsp of salt per 1 1/2 c of pumpkin seeds.

Boil the seeds for 10 minutes, drain, set aside.

For the Cinnamon Spice:
1 1/2 c pumpkin seeds, cleaned and boiled
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp chipotle chili powder
2 tbsp raw sugar
1 tsp olive oil

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

In a bowl, toss together the seeds with the spices, sugar, and oil. Spread on a baking sheet in an even layer. Bake for 20-30 minutes, until browned but not burned.

For the Hot Curried Pumpkin Seeds:
1 1/2 c pumpkin seeds, cleaned and boiled
1 1/2 tsp curry powder
1/2 tsp hot curry powder
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp corriander
1 tsp salt
1 tsp olive oil

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

In a bowl, toss together the seeds with the spices, salt, and oil. Spread on a baking sheet in an even layer. Bake for 25-30 minutes, until browned but not burned.

For the Old Bay Pumpkin Seeds:
1 1/2 c pumpkin seeds, cleaned and boiled
1 1/2 tbsp Old Bay spice
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper
1 tsp olive oil

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

In a bowl, toss together the seeds with the Old Bay, salt, pepper, and oil. Spread on a baking sheet in an even layer. Bake for 25-30 minutes, until browned but not burned.

