Greetings from Mobile, Alabama! When I left Roanoke two feet of snow piled on the ground and now I’m walking around in sandals and a t-shirt–kind of a big switch. The snow was awesome–lots of running around, building snowpeople, throwing snowballs, keeping warm with whiskey, and etc.–but it’s great to see my mom again and tear up a mess in the kitchen.

Tonight I’m meeting all my soon-to-be family at a light horderves open house (my mom is getting married soon, which is why I’m spending Christmas in a town I’ve never visited before), so naturally we spent the entire afternoon prepping delicious food for the party. In addition to the meaty items, I whipped up some pesto stuffed mushroom caps, the walnut mushroom pate from VCon, and these quick and easy samosas. While these samosas are not the most authentic, I think they’re pretty darn close since my high school boyfriend’s mother (they were from Madras) used to make her samosas this way. Using the rolled out croissant pastry cuts back on time and utilizing the oven instead of a fryer makes them a little easier on the arteries. It’s a win-win situation!

I hope everyone is having a stress-free pre-Christmas week, or just a good week in general and hopefully soon I’ll have some south Alabama local color to share!

::edit:: And looking for the perfect kitchentastic holiday treat for yourself, a gift that keeps on giving? Head over to I Am Gluten-Free and enter the TofuXPress giveaway!

Quick & Easy Samosas

adapted from Food Network & my ex-boyfriend’s mother

3 medium baking potatoes, boiled until tender, drained and cooled
1/4 c olive oil
1 c onion, minced
1 tsp dried ginger
1 tsp chili powder
1 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp garam masala
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp tumeric
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
1 c green peas
2 tubes vegan croissant rolls

Over medium heat on the stove, saute the onions in the olive oil for 5-6 minutes until translucent. Add the spices and cook for 1 minute, until fragrant.

Add the potatoes and cook for 5 more minutes, stirring to combine. Add the peas. Adjust spices if necessary.

Preheat the oven to 375 F.

Roll out the croissant pastry into thin sheets. Cut into 3″x5″ squares.

Drop a tablespoon of the potato mixture into the middle of the puff pastry wrapper. Wet three sides of the wrapper with your finger and fold the left and right sides into a triangle. Fold up the bottom to seal.

Bake for 15-20 minutes until golden brown on the top and bottom.

Makes 20-25.

