Thanks for all the love regarding Sheba you guys. As empty as the house seems, everyone appears to be settling into more or less of a two cat routine. I’m not sure if it’s Sheba being gone or the ridiculous cold, but both Mistoffelees and Dorian have been uber clingy as of late–something I love at night because they keep me warm, but something that can be a bit of a pain when I’m trying to get work done. You know how cats have that way of always plopping down on the book you’re reading or sticking their butts in front of your computer screen? It’s getting out of control here. (smile)


In other news, I went on a long, ice and snow encrusted winter adventure yesterday! My friend E. (who recently thru-hiked the Appalachian Trail) is leaving town indefinitely for New Zealand, so we decided to do one last tromp through the woods up to Apple Orchard Falls. We had good intentions of hiking the long loop, but when the road to the trailhead was a bit too icy for my poor little Honda Civic to handle, we just hiked the up to the falls and back hike in addition to the long long long walk up the road and back. (I just looked up the mileage and it turns out the road was 3 miles long and the hike was 3 miles, so that’s 9 miles total–eep!)

The hike was fantastic–the day was warmer than it’s been in ages, which probably means it was a super high of 28 degrees or something–even thought the terrain was a bit difficult (very icy–I had a few spectacular falls), and the waterfall was gorgeous in its liminal half frozen-half liquid state. Right now I’m still a bit sore, messed up a muscle in one calf, but I’m glad we decided to brave the snow and ice to hit up a fantastic, quiet, challenging hike.

As far as food goes, nothing too spectacular has been in the works here. I made a variation of Jessy’s butternut maple scallion balls for potluck on Sunday and right now I have a vat of mushroom tomato sauce bubbling, but I’ve mostly been eating off of my lentil soup and these fantastic crepes.

I posted a recipe for gluten-free buckwheat crepes back in October, but this week I decided to go back to the recipe and make a few changes (and make them super savory!). When I originally adapted the recipe from Monica at SmarterFitter I simply changed the all purpose flour to all purpose gluten-free flour. I didn’t like the extra chickpea flour that added in though, so this time I substituted brown rice flour for the all purpose gluten-free mix. I like the prefer the less beany smell and flavor, and the rice flour gave the crepes a nice tooth. These particular crepes I filled with caramelized onions and sauted garlic, kale, and portobello mushrooms. Topped with Monica’s Cashew Gravy and served with a side of Green Bean Casserole Redux, the meal was quite light and satisfying.

Savory Gluten-Free Buckwheat Crepes

adapted from SmarterFitter

1 1/2 c + 2 tbsp soy milk
1/4 c water
1/2 c buckwheat flour
1/4 c brown rice flour
1/4 c chickpea flour
1 tbsp cornstarch
1/2 tsp salt
vegetable oil

Whisk together all of the ingredients Let the batter rest for at least an hour.

Lightly oil an 8- or 10-inch nonstick/cast iron skillet and place over medium heat.

Pour a couple of tablespoons of batter into the skillet. Swirl it around so that it forms a thin layer on the bottom of the pan. (If the crepes aren’t thin enough, add a little more milk to the batter.)

When the top of the crepe is dry, after about a minute, flip and cook the other side for 15 to 30 seconds. (The crepes should brown only very slightly and not be at all crisp.)

Stack the crepes on a plate as you make them. You can keep them warm in a low oven while you make the remaining crepes. Or freeze the leftover crepes, separating each crepes with a piece of parchment paper.

Makes about 10 crepes

