Now that I’m in the behavior enforcement–er…substitute teaching–profession, I join the tens of thousands of teachers who get up far too early, deal with hormonally-raging kids, and who are never given enough time to relax and enjoy their lunch. Take today for example: I had to eat lunch in the lunchroom at the teacher’s table. With the high schoolers, it’s better–even if I don’t get a planning period, I can at least count on a 20 minute interlude of silence at my desk. But today? No. Today I got to awkwardly sit in front of the middle schoolers and eat soup. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I don’t hate my job–some days, of course, are better than others–but I do miss the days of having a semi-relaxing lunch or a scream-free day. In today’s case, though, the soup did taste damn good!

The recipe for the Roasted Butternut & Carrot Chipotle Soup is a riff off of Homesick Texan’s Chipotle Sweet Potato Soup. Even though I have an insane amount of sweet potatoes that I need to use up, I was in the mood for making, yes, yet another butternut squash soup. It never gets old, does it? Since I wanted to make a big batch to eat all week for school lunches, I decided to throw in a bunch of roasted carrots. The result is spicy-sweet and just what I was hoping for. The roasted butternut squash, carrots, and spices add a lingering sweetness to the soup while the chipotle peppers add just the right amount of heat (remember, don’t add too many!). While it may not be the smoothest or creamiest or whatever-est soup, it’s definitely hearty and light at the same time and perfect for the end of winter blahs.

Roasted Butternut & Carrot Chipotle Soup

adapted from Homesick Texan

1 large butternut squash, peeled and cut in half
1 lb carrots, peeled
1 onion, chopped
4 cloves of garlic, minced
4 c vegetable broth
2-3 chipotles in adobo (depending on your heat tolerance) chopped
1 tsp dried ginger
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp nutmeg
Juice of one lime
3 tbsp of olive oil
Salt and black pepper to taste

Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees F.

In a large casserole dish, place the butternut squash and carrots. Coat with 2 tbsp olive oil and salt and pepper to taste. Roast for 45 minutes-1 hour until tender. Remove from oven and let cool.

Meanwhile, in a medium skillet saute the onion in 1 tbsp olive oil for 5-7 minutes until tender. Add the garlic and chopped chipotles and saute for 1 minute more until fragrant. Add the spices, cook for 30 seconds, and then add the lime juice to deglaze the pan. Remove from heat and set aside.

Put half the roasted vegetables and the onion mixture into a food processor or blender with 2 cups of the vegetable stock and puree. Empty the soup into a bowl or pot on the stove and repeat with the remaining roasted vegetables, onion mixture, and stock.

Reheat the soup on the stove and serve or store in an airtight container for later use.

Makes 6-8 servings.

