This past weekend I had the pleasure of hosting a CouchSurfer from Austria. She came into Roanoke for a conference after far too many delays thanks to Eyjafjallajökull (say that one time fast) and due to my crazy schedule I wasn’t able to cook with her as much as I wanted, but by Sunday morning things died down enough for me to be able to whip up some gluten-free banana bourbon pecan waffles while listening to the week’s Wait, Wait…Don’t Tell Me (at least this week Georgia didn’t make the news…).

I really love Sunday mornings.

The waffles didn’t need to be gluten-free (neither of us are gluten-intolerant), but you know me, I have to go the extra mile to see if it’ll work. With my overripe bananas, a freezer full of pecans, and a bit of Maker’s Mark left in my cupboard, I figured why not, let’s see if buckwheat & sorghum can do the trick. And they did. Sorghum is, I think, one of my favorite gluten-free flours simply because it doesn’t have a weird taste/texture and it always performs well when I use it. These waffles are, perhaps, the best waffles I’ve ever made. Ever. And even with the mix being half buckwheat (a flour I love love love but which many people think has a strong taste), the waffles just had a nutty, whole grainy taste to them. The buckwheat definitely wasn’t overpowering. And who can say no to bananas and nuts and liquor?

If only I’d had a mimosa to go with them…

Gluten-free Banana Bourbon Pecan Waffles

1 c buckwheat flour
1 c sorghum flour
1 1/2 c soy milk (or other nondairy milk)
1/4 c bourbon
1/2 c vegetable oil
1 tbsp turbinado sugar
4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2 over ripe bananas
1 c pecans, chopped

Preheat waffle iron.

In a large mixing bowl, mash the bananas until they are a smooth puree. Add the sugar, soy milk, bourbon, and oil and mix thoroughly to combine.

Add the flours, salt, and baking powder and mix to combine (until there are no lumps). Stir in the chopped pecans.

Scoop 1/4-1/3 cup batter into the waffle iron and let cook for 4-5 minutes, until golden brown and crispy on the outside (my circa 1955 waffle iron stops steaming at the point the waffles are done). Remove waffles with a fork and repeat until all batter is used.

Makes 6 large waffles.

