Greetings from Mobile, AL!  I’m down here for a week for my mom’s wedding (which I making the wedding cake for too) and these few days before the festivities and cooking hit full swing, we’re trying to eat as light and flavorful as possible (everyone wants to fit into their dress/suit…such a delicious drag).  So last night we grilled out–my first cook-out of the year–and while the recipes are simple, you can’t beat fresh grilled vegetables.

The eggplant slices were marinated in a store-bought marinade, but the corn was slathered in basil butter (mix 2 tbsp fresh minced basil with 4 tbsp Earth Balance) and wrapped in foil before grilling.  The zucchini and yellow squash were put in a foil packet with olive oil, minced garlic, salt and pepper.  Everything, of course grills at it’s own pace, but the corn takes the longest, followed by the zucchini and the eggplant.  Served over a little leftover quinoa and the plate was perfect!

I’m hoping to keep this updated on my regular schedule, but we’ll see how it goes with the wedding prep and all.  Hope you all had a lovely weekend!

