This past week has been crazy, a lot of sleep to catch up on, ankles to rest, etc. after my time in Mobile. Turns out I injured my ankle pretty badly while making the wedding cake/rehearsal dinner/reception. Not sure what I did to it, don’t remember twisting it or anything, but I’m not able to run or go on my usual longer bike rides. I feel a little pent up, not going to lie. But I am swimming regularly, since it’s the one thing that hurts slightly less than everything else, and I’m still riding my bike around town for transportation (hope my mom doesn’t read this, she’s urging me to stay off it, which I probably should…but I just can’t…ahhhh conundrums!). Injuries aside, I swear (for the last time) I’m back on schedule here.

Looking back at my pictures, though, I can’t help but smile quite a bit when I remember pelicans and sailboats and dancing around to Nola-style jazz at the reception. Making the wedding cake? Not so fond memories, but, with my mother’s help, it turned out alright. And doesn’t my mother look beautiful? She & Todd were the very picture of pure joy (as cheesy as that probably sounds, it’s true)–they give me so much hope for real love and community in life. I was so blessed to be able to share the journey with them!

But back to life in the ‘noke, though. This week has been a blur of wrapping up my 1st year of grad school–mostly meetings, I finished all my projects last week while in Alabama–and continuing to work as much as possible before the public school system’s year ends and I’m jobless until August. Given that I never know what day I’ll work and where I’ll be working, I like to keep lunchroom-friendly leftovers on hand, and given that I still had about 2 lbs of corn tortillas leftover from the enchiladas and a package of tempeh sitting in my fridge and homemade chili powder on hand, I figured I might as well put them to list.

While tempeh tacos might not be too utterly original or interesting, I think that the simplicity of the tacos is what makes them shine. I simply marinated the tempeh, sauteed it in some olive oil, and served it on the fresh tortillas with local, organic salad greens, diced tomatoes, and my version of my favorite Mexican diner’s hot sauce. They just go to show that you make excellent entrees with relatively few ingredients. I also served the tacos with some fried potatoes, but I’m saving that recipe for a rainy day.

Edit:: An Apple A Day is hosting a TofuXPress giveaway–go check it out!

GF Tempeh Tacos & Super Hot Salsa

for the Taco-Style Tempeh:

1 package gluten-free tempeh
1/3 c + 2 tbsp olive oil
1/4 c Bragg’s Liquid Amino Acids
3 cloves garlic, minced
3 tbsp dark chili powder

Cut the tempeh into thirds, then cut each third in half width-wise to make nine equal-sized thin rectangles.

In an 8×8 baking dish, mix the 1/3 c olive oil and Bragg’s together. Dredge the tempeh in the mixture and then place in the baking dish. Sprinkle the minced garlic and chili powder on one side of the tempeh.

Let marinate for 4-6 hours, flipping over after two hours.

After the tempeh is marinated, warm 2 tbsp olive oil in a large frying pan over medium heat. Saute the tempeh on both sides until lightly brown and crispy. Set aside to cool.

For the Super Hot Sauce:

3 medium slicer tomatoes
1 onion
2 jalepenos
1-3 chiles de arbol
water

In a blender, puree the tomatoes, onion, japenos, and chiles de arbol. Add a little water if needed to puree. (Note: chiles de arbol are super hot–beware! I use 3, but I have a stomach of steel and adore ridiculously hot peppers. For the general public, 1 chile de arbol is more than enough.)

for the Tacos:

1 recipe Taco-Style Tempeh
1 recipe Super Hot Sauce
1 tomato, diced
1 c mixed salad greens
24 fresh corn tortillas

Warm the corn tortillas in the oven or microwave.

Slice the each rectangle of tempeh into 4 smaller rectangles.

Use two tortillas per taco (double layer them) and place a small handful of greens in the tortilla, then layer three or four pieces of tempeh on top of the greens and sprinkle diced tomatoes on top.

Serve with the hot sauce (drizzle inside the taco or dip the taco in the hot sauce).

Serves 4.

